Citizen of the Year

The Fonthill Kinsmen’s Pelham Citizen of the Year was first presented in 1998 in order to honour a citizen of the Town of Pelham who has demonstrated, by his or her volunteerism, the true sense of community spirit.

The recipient must either reside or work in the Town of Pelham, be 21 years of age and be neither a member of any branch of the Kinsmen Clubs of Canada nor anyone who is financially compensated for his or her political activities.

Citizen of the Year 2022

The Fonthill Kinsmen are pleased to congratulation Brad & Brayden Saplywy for their outstanding commitment to our community as the recipients of this past years award.

The guidelines for nomination for citizen of the year:

– Nominee must live or work in Pelham.

– Nominee cannot be a sitting politician.

– Nominee should be an active member in the community.

– Nominee should exemplify extraordinary volunteerism and positive community activism.

To submit a nomination, simply write a one-page recommendation letter to the Fonthill & District Kinsmen. Submissions must be completed and post marked no later than January 27, 2023.

Submissions sent by mail to the address below:

The Kinsmen Club of Fonthill and District P.O box 906 Fonthill ON LOS 1E0

Or sent directly to our email

Citizen of the Year recipients

  • 1998: Carolyn Mullin
  • 1999: Eric Bergenstien
  • 2000: Jake Dilts
  • 2001: Tony Finamore
  • 2002: George Kowalski
  • 2003: Anne Robbins
  • 2004: Catherine Kuckyt
  • 2005: Gerry Berkhout
  • 2006: Paul Ryan
  • 2007: Gail Baltjes-Chataway
  • 2008: Rick Lowes
  • 2009: Gail Hilyer
  • 2010: Gord Klager
  • 2011: Sandra Warden
  • 2012: Fred Disher
  • 2013: David Swan
  • 2014: Gary and Rosemary Chambers
  • 2015: John Wink
  • 2016: Ron Kore
  • 2017: Judy Reid
  • 2018: Frank Adamson
  • 2019: Michael Jacques
  • 2022: Brad & Brayden Saplywy